A Tuesday Summary

Things I have done…

Got the membership cards for the Louvre and the D’Orsay last Friday.  So I used them this week.

Monday I dropped by at the Louvre.  What a treat it was to be able to see just what I wanted to see and not leave feeling like I didn’t get my money’s worth.  No need to rush!  I anticipate a visit once or twice a week for a while.  Enough to enjoy what I want at a good pace.  With the membership card, you also get to avoid all the lines.  What a treat. IMG_4755

So this visit was to the newly refurbished Winged Victory.  (Don’t tell anyone – she looked pretty much like I saw her the last time!)   She was one of my mother’s favorites.  My dad and I gave her a nice replica – smaller!  Which I inherited.  It’s somewhere safe in my townhouse in Sacramento.

And on the way to her, I happened upon the Venus de Milo

Venus de Milo

Venus de Milo

.

Today I thought I would take a quick trip to the D’Orsay – actually my favorite museum- before I had a client call at 2.

Not so quick.  The 73 bus runs almost outside my door and then straight to the D’Orsay.  I just missed it.  Waited patiently 16 minutes.  The driver said something about the Arc de Triomphe…. my French wasn’t quite good enough…  But what alternative was there.  So when we go to that stop, he declared that the bus was Terminee.  The end of the line for that particular bus.  This I understood.  So that meant waiting another 16 minutes for the next bus.  45 minutes later I am at the d’Orsay.

It is recently refurbished.  San Francisco benefited from some wonderful special exhibits of the D’Orsay paintings while they were refurbishing.  I was delighted it was open again for my visit.  Except recently they have instituted a no photo policy.  Not sure why – the Louvre lets you take pictures!  IMG_4802At least you can get away with photos of the beautiful clock and ceiling in this old train station.

Just a quick visit.  There is so much more to see.  But I will say, I do so like the Nabis.the nabis   Maurice Denis

nabis 2

Leave a Reply

