What? What? EIGHT?

Yes.  I seem to recall that I said I was done with long walks after two days in a row of seven miles.

Gare de l'Est

Gare de l’Est

So on Monday I went to Troyes by train and ended up walking 8 miles.  At least it was at my choice and my pace and a saunter not a death march.  I discovered another bus route for the Gare de l’Est.  Whenever possible, I prefer to take the bus.  So much more to see

Troyes is a town in about 1.5 hours on the train to the south east of Paris.  Ever hear the term “troy” weight for gold? Yup.  From this town.  It was an active medieval trading center.

Do you recall the skiers on the balcony from yesterday?  Maybe this is a trend but in Troyes, there was something similar.  A couple had a cardboard cutout – I guess of them! – on their balcony!  IMG_4982If only I had a balcony….

And then a few steps later and I am in medieval times.  So many half timbered houses.  And simply delightful. IMG_4985 IMG_4988IMG_4997

Several old old churches.  I went into them as I came upon them, heading up to the cathedral of St Peter and Paul.  IMG_4999Which seems a clearly rational approach.  Except when you realize it is getting on lunch time and, yup, wouldn’t you know it, the cathedral is closed between 1230 and 1400.  Interesting that none of the other churches were closed a noon.

So that meant a back track to the town square for a leisurely lunch.  IMG_4996This is a statue on the city hall – says Liberty, Equality, Fraternity, or Death.  Not many of these still around in France, or so the guidebook says.

And after I retraced my steps – oh how I hate to retrace steps! – to the cathedral.  And I have to say it was totally worth it.  I don’t think I have ever heard this particular cathedral mentioned before, but oh my I loved it.  Hard to say quite what it was so I will just stick to the energy of the place.  And it was freezing!  Nice place on a summer’s day, but it wasn’t warm enough outside to need to cool off.
IMG_4988 IMG_4990 IMG_5002  IMG_5004

One of these pictures is of the stained glass reflections – interesting how it comes out in the photograph – it really didn’t look like that in reality.  Feels ghostlike, huh?IMG_4995

A great thing about the tourisme office – they have a counter with plugs so you can recharge your phone!  Everyone is getting electronic!

Oh yes – and please don’t forget: Do not urinate on public grounds. IMG_4987 I am glad they posted this sign!

I also discovered the 2 euro store!  Just like dollar tree.  I actually picked up a few things for the apartment.  Fortunately, I also carry a whole foods stuff sack.

And when I finally made it back to the train station to wait to board, I realized that by the end of the day I would have EIGHT miles.  Whew!

I like their city art.  It’s NOT Jeff Koons.IMG_4984

Leave a Reply

