Skeet shooting… with real pigeons

Forget that clay stuff. You will recall I purchased a small squirt gun yesterday for one euro at the   Paris version of Kmart? So I had a chance to use it three times this morning and I am improving my process in stages.   First, fill the squirt gun. Second, always prime it by shooting into the sink quietly. This also allows you to make sure the water hasn’t leaked out. (It was only a euro after all – I didn’t buy the big semi-automatic – although maybe I should pick up one – water!!!) One time I just pointed the gun and they were gone by the time the first stream shot out. Those birds are quick.

A2015-06-21 10.14.26nd you have to open the window quietly. By now if they hear the latch, they take off. If the window is already open, I don’t even look – just extend my hand with the finger on the trigger and start shooting once I am past the window frame. Ha! Sometimes, I shoot at empty space. I do hope the neighbors aren’t looking. But other times, success! And even as they fly past. Once this morning there was only one – that gave me hope! The partner was probably saying, you go, you try it out! I am too scared. But after I did get him, they both came back. I shall not give up, however!   I shall conquer the pigeons!

Do I hate birds? Not in general. However, I am not enamored of them right outside my window. I discovered this antipathy to fowl during – of all things- a massage. Relaxing away. Enjoying the soothing music. (You know they always play soothing music!) Then the song changed to one more of nature sounds. And some birds were chirping in the background. Suddenly, this change came over me.   The relaxed part of me casually observed this other Marcie awakening to this sound. And it wasn’t pretty. I found myself wanting to reach for a shotgun or rifle (but while I am a fairly good shot – summer camp – a shotgun would be more effective) and find those dang birds and keep them from singing! At which point the relaxed part of me became alarmed and took action to tell the therapist it would be a good idea to change the music immediately. She did. I now always explain we cannot have soothing bird sounds. It’s my Mister Hyde trigger. So now you see why a squirt gun is a mild response.

And sort of fun, actually. Who will win?

Enough of that.

I am off today to purchase tickets for the Force Majeur in September in Versailles (the city not the palace). It’s Eddie Izzard. I love Eddie Izzard. A British comedian.  Some of you many know him. I adore British humor – maybe it was living there at ages 9-11? eddieHe is smart and bizarre and fabulous. And this year – while I am in Paris, he decided to have a tour of the West Coast. Yes, he was actually in Sacramento! Horrors. I ignored every post on FB about his concert and mopped about in Paris. He did a tour here in France two years ago – yes, in French. He worked on it with his brother, I believe – someone fluent in French – and memorized it. So I got to France too late and left US too early.

But wait! It turns out – thanks to my niece who went to his show and heard him talk about this – he is returning to France this fall.   So today I am off to FNAC (French Best Buy) to purchase tickets. My niece will be visiting then – and I will have 3 more months of French – so what I don’t get she can tell me as she saw it in English. She isn’t fluent in French but wants to go anyway!

Observation time.

You know I have had a great number of conversation exchanges with French folk. I am so pleased with this. Not simply for the opportunity to speak French, but for the chance to just sit and talk about the world and life with someone else. Perhaps we have lost the art of conversation? We are always so busy for work or family or hobbies – so focused on getting something accomplished. globeWhen do we linger over a cup of coffee, tea, or even water? And of course, being in France, a glass of wine? Here I am doing it almost daily. With a variety of people with different interests. It’s a fabulous part of my day – of my time here. We talk about cultural differences. And we speak quite frankly. And we talk about whether we can talk about these things without insulting the other. And everyone is so open and eager to understand. From the education system, to cooking, to vacations, to terrorists and freedom of speech. Is this an intellectual side of myself that I didn’t realize I was lacking? Is it the type of person who is also interested in learning a culture that I didn’t meet in the US because we all share the culture? Or we think we do. Most people project onto others their own point of view, because, well, don’t we all think like us?

I thank the Universe for bringing me such great people for these conversations. As this continues to develop, I think I am actually making some long term friends. Elizabeth and I spend almost 4 hours last Friday. That’s not your normal you talk 30 min and I talk 30 minutes. And Chantelle is in the Clinique and wants me to visit her there – that’s not a normal conversation exchange. And my lawyer CE who is somewhat a coaching client at the same time – he told me last week that his self-confidence and self-understanding has increased since his time with me. Score. There aren’t better words for a coach to hear than that.

Again, thanks Universe. And thanks to me for manifesting such wonderful people – my friend Ned an expat contractor from SF has had some horror stories about CE.  I don’t.  (Smile!)

It is La Fete de la Musique. The Summer Solstice. Longest day of the year. And I am taking it easy today – coughed through my phone call with my niece. Would have stayed in all day playing pigeon skeet but now I have to venture out for Eddie Izzard. Maybe find at least one music venue on the way. Then home to plan Berlin. No French studying until I know what I am doing in Berlin. (Any suggestions, email me please).

One thought on “Skeet shooting… with real pigeons

Leave a Reply

