OMG Uber…

This morning I got up early to print my boarding pass for the flight tomorrow.  I use yahoo mail so during the process, I went to the yahoo France page to log into mail.  And now I have discovered the best place for news.  (I would go to Yahoo often in the US – but here, I do so much on my phone…)

There I found  all the information on the Uber activities yesterday.  And some of this activity was actually 2 blocks from my apartment.  But I was out and about in Paris itself so saw nothing.   Glad I saw nothing.

TOPSHOTS French CRS riot police arrive to intervene as demonstrators block Porte Maillot in Paris on June 25, 2015, as hundreds of taxi drivers converged on airports and other areas around the capital to demonstrate against UberPOP, a popular taxi app that is facing fierce opposition from traditional cabs. Access to three terminals at Paris-Charles de Gaulle airport and in a number of areas of Paris, especially Porte Maillot, were blocked. AFP PHOTO / KENZO TRIBOUILLARD

TOPSHOTS
French CRS riot police arrive to intervene as demonstrators block Porte Maillot in Paris on June 25, 2015, as hundreds of taxi drivers converged on airports and other areas around the capital to demonstrate against UberPOP, a popular taxi app that is facing fierce opposition from traditional cabs. Access to three terminals at Paris-Charles de Gaulle airport and in a number of areas of Paris, especially Porte Maillot, were blocked. AFP PHOTO / KENZO TRIBOUILLARD

And trust me, if I saw this, I would have been walking the other way.

As I made my reservation for the Le Cars Air France bus to the airport, I also found this printed on their website – a special notice:

“Warning:  Thursday, June 25, 2015.  Due to taxis’ demonstration, strong disturbances are to be planned during the day.  Stops can not be served during the day.  We thank you for your understanding and kindly request you to excuse us for the caused embarrassment.  The Sales Department.”

Did you see that Courtney Love tweeted to Francois Hollande – about them attacking tourists!  You tell him, Courtney.

I do love France, but it is different.

I am safe.  Not expecting demonstrations over the weekend and hopefully by the time I return next Wednesday, there will be something else for the French to worry about.

One thought on “OMG Uber…

  1. Glad you are safe. Enjoy Germany. We had a successful Music in the Vines fundraiser last night and now working on Lions Club 4th of July fireworks sales and Relay for Life in mid-July.

    Love,

    Mike

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

