Yikes!

Really. Yikes!   

Well.  Just what does yikes mean?

This conversation exchange keeps teaching me English!   I used Yikes in an email to a French friend.  As in Yikes I will be driving the rental car in Paris.  Yikes indeed. 

I explained as best I could.  An expression of surprise or fear.  And realized again why the French expressions throw me off too!  Like Donc.  They use it like crazy.  It’s sort of Then…  But I haven’t felt comfortable using it yet.  

Mais.  Donc.  A time will come!

Leave a Reply

