New Perspective

My friends’ visit.  Seeing Paris through the eyes of a 5 year old is challenging.  It requires you to start noticing every carousel.  Every bounce house or trampoline.  Anything that looks like a kids’ playground.

Certainly things I had not noticed before.   And the one experience I had that seemed perfect for a kid – France Miniature – ended up a sight unseen.  Maybe next time.  I am impressed with the parenting skills.  I remember my mom and dad just taking me on the tours at age 9.  I had 4 years on this little miss.  But this mom started the tours of the Louvre and the d’Orsay by going to the bookstore and letting her pick 3 postcards of art work that she wanted to see in person.  And then it became a bit of a treasure hunt.  Imagine, picking the Venus de Milo or the Winged Victory at 5?  And at the d’Orsay, she picked two Van Goghs – The Room and Starry Night.  Of course, Starry Night is still in Russia. (I do hope it comes back!)

A very precocious young lady.  I can’t wait to meet up with her again.

Of course, it was a blast to see her mom, a friend.  We found time for a few brief chats.  I recall how one of my close friends, mother to two children, has told me that our friendship stayed alive because I kept in contact with her as her kids grew up.  In Paris, with my mom friend, even short conversations were interrupted with the mom duties.  But precious time indeed.

With my friend, husband, daughter and mother, we went to the Jules Verne restaurant at the Eiffel Tower.  It’s the famous 5 star Alan Ducasse restaurant.   As close friends know well and as I have said before, I am not a chef.  Nor a gourmet.  The food was beautifully presented.  The ambiance – besides the incredible view – was marvelous – quiet, refined.  And there were interesting flavors and some real hits.  I’d go back again for the ambiance and experience, but maybe not the food.   Oh Sacre Bleu!  Is that sacrilegious??? But it’s a memory I shall cherish.  Thanks my friend and reader!

My friend had a slight illness and we were searching for cranberry juice and other liquids for her.  She expected to pick up some at Monoprix about 6 on Sunday night.  I smiled – oh how I have become a native.  Nothing is open on Sunday afternoon.  Especially in August!  But now I know the secret places – like Galleries Gourmand at the Porte Maillot Palais de Congress center.  She Uberred over and I helped her shop.

The family headed home last Wednesday.  I will miss them.  But then, more time for French!

3 thoughts on “New Perspective

  1. You are so sweet!!!! We miss you! Xoxo

    Jennifer Brown Shaw Shaw Valenza LLP 980 9th Street, Suite 2300 Sacramento, CA 95814

    T: 916-326-5150 F: 916-497-0708 C: 916-812-9462

    Privileged and confidential

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  2. Love reading your posts!!!! Besides being veryyyyy interesting (your a good writer, very engaging and entertaining) I’m learning a lot! Enjoy my friend!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

