Faire le pont…

It’s May again.  The most favorite month if you are a French worker.  Four, almost 5 holidays in May!  (I don’t count Mother’s Day because it’s a Sunday and everything is already closed). And if the calendar falls advantageously, you can Faire Le Pont several times.  That’s French for take a long weekend.

  • May 1 – Labor Day/ May Day
  • May 5 – Ascension Day
  • May 8 – End of WWII
  • May 15 – Whit Sunday making Monday May 16 Whit Monday
  • May 29 – Mother’s Day

Doesn’t it seem odd for a secular country – which the Republic is – to recognize Christian holidays?  I haven’t figured that out yet.  Except it’s time off – cynic that I am.

So my schedule was such that I had computer things to do – working on the Bloom Where You Are Planted day for the expats.  And prepping for a client.  And studying the Enneagram so I can get my case study out of the way.  And a sore ankle is appreciating the feet up on the coffee table for the day.  But I did have planned a quick trip out to Monoprix to pick up a couple things.

Good plan.  Until this afternoon the quietness of my street finally sunk in – with the realization that nothing, including Monoprix , would be open.  Guess I will make do with what I have.

Happy Holidays.   (BTW – when writing a blog, do remember to do your draft in Word where the text will be auto saved and not on Word Press where a misplaced fingertip will irreversibly delete your draft.)

 

