Museum Exhibits

I continue to be impressed by the exhibits available here in Paris.  The diversity amazes me.  From Barbie (yes the Mattel doll!) to James Bond besides the normal variety of art shows.

I went back to the Rousseau exhibit at the D’Orsay before it closed.

And Thank God for the ads in the Metro hallways – that’s how I am reminded about exhibits both coming up and those closing soon.

The curator mixed Rousseau’s painting with those by other artists to show how his work evolved and whom he was influenced by and whom he influenced.  This time I wandered slowly, reading all the information on each painting.  As I have mentioned in an earlier blog, I am fascinated by the process of curating an exhibit.  How do they pick the paintings, how do they arrange for the loan?  The timing?  Everything.

This time I was amused – so many of the paintings of the other artists – Picasso, Degas, Delacroix – there was no difficulty getting them to this show because they were all owned by the Musee d’Orsay itself!  Imagine walking through the museum or the storage rooms and just saying, “Oh I’ll take that one, and that one, and oh yes, that one for sure!”

Leave a Reply

