Rest

Rest – it’s all it’s cracked up to be!  Who knew?

So continuing saga – you know I have been tres occupee the past 40 some days.  And life caught up to me last week and knocked me on my butt.  I didn’t have a bad cold but felt the twinges of one starting.  So for a big change.  Probably the first time in my life!  I decided to rest.  Stayed home since Tuesday afternoon except for two meetings – on Thursday and Friday and then nothing else til last night a quiet dinner.  That’s 8 days.  And on many of those I napped more than I did nothing or read.  And on top of that, I was getting 7 or more hours of sleep.

And today I feel almost chipper.

I had work to do for the Bloom Where You’re Planted event I am working on (a day for new expats to explain all things French).   And I did it all!  Effectively.  Efficiently.  And without putting it off until 9 pm.  I haven’t done that for a long while.  AND my hip doesn’t seem to bother me.

Hmmm.  Maybe this resting is a good idea…

But heck, it will get in the way of doing things!  And I am all about doing things!

Tonight I did something!  You have heard about the construction across from me.  This evening there was an open house for the neighbors so we could hear what’s happening with it and ask questions.  Well, my neighbors could ask questions.  It was clearly a reminder that while I may feel I am becoming more literate in French, I have a long long way to go.  Yet, I did understand a lot of it.  Still I was too wimpy to ask my questions in the meeting – I waited until after it was breaking up to talk to him.  And he did understand.  One of the main topics was the time of the work – it’s not supposed to start until at least 7:30.  Wish we all had known that two months ago.  I told him about the one guy who shows up almost every day to open the gate – lots of noise! – at 6:30 or 7.  And about the … boys? Men? Hoodlums? Who jumped over the fence (it’s a tall fence) to toss pieces of metal bars to his two friends.  At 2 am.  I don’t want to know what their intentions were…  He said they are installing video surveillance cameras.

The construction rep took it all in.  Maybe after Thursday it will be quieter in the morning…

The project is massive.  It started this summer and won’t be done until January 2018.  I suppose projects like this are common in big cities like New York or London.  It’s fascinating to me.  They will actually put a crane in the courtyard of the building next month.  The BIG WORK (direct translation) is scheduled for between this November and April next year.  The façade between April and October next year.  Then interior work until January 2018.

Neighbors were quite concerned about the crane – that it wouldn’t drop something on their building – I think.  And while I thought it was bad enough here across the street, people in the building next to it were talking about the constant noise and vibration.  Yikes.

Now that I feel better, life is getting back on track.  Conversation exchanges tomorrow and Friday.  Saturday I get to play – a friend is coming in from the suburbs/banlieu for food or fun or both.  And more conversations.  The exciting thing is my Wednesday adventure!

Leave a Reply

