Butter Weather!

 

There are few things in the world better than French salted butter.  Especially when you can see the salt crystals in the butter itself. Yum.  Miam Miam.  It’s the Swede in me I guess.    So what’s Butter Weather?   Why, of course, it’s when you can safely leave the butter on the counter instead of putting it back in the fridge.  So that the butter is the absolute perfect consistency for buttering bread (French, of course).   Yes, the weather has turned – it was 46 this morning when I woke up.  Highs in the high 60s or low 70s during the day.  Fabulous.

 

I am off to meet a friend of a friend this afternoon who has just arrived.  I do enjoy being a tour guide.  So I will take a highlighter and one of my many extra maps of Paris and give her tips.  It will be interesting to see what her other friends have suggested.

I VOTED TODAY!  It was a busy day at La Poste.  Mailed my ballot to the County of Sacramento Elections office.  Wrapped it with packing tape – that sucker will not break open en route.  Then I posted a gift to a friend – the goddess of Peace… wonder if she will get that?  And fortunately, the nice guy helped me.  I sent something to my sister a few months ago in a big envelope usually used for papers… and he just let it go that way….  Meaning no customs forms to fill out.  Last thing I sent,  – scarves in the same type of envelope – I had to fill out all the forms.   The nice guy just had me seal it up and off it went.  Much cheaper that way too.

Daily I follow the election via the New York Times and Washington Post on my IPhone.

(oh, by the way, I HATE IOS10… You might want to read up about before you install or you will be searching frantically to figure out how to open the dang thing and how to read your email that suddenly appears in the tiniest font possible – that’s on my IPhone 5, btw for full disclosure.  I have managed to figure it all out, but sure surprised me.)

(At least my laptop is working again – a reader told me that Microsoft pushed out a huge update…  Although it did make changes to my lock screen photo all by itself.  Instead of my Eiffel Tower photo, suddenly there were giraffes!!?!?!)

Back to the election.  You must have figured out I am with her.   Got my hat and buttons finally.  She’s not perfect – what politician is?  But Trump scares me.  Trump supporters scare me.  I hear and see him encouraging civil disobedience… nope, that’s not right.  Civil disobedience means using nonviolence to change.  He’s inciting people to violence.  That’s not the way America is supposed to work.  At my lowest point, I wonder if this is the end of democracy.

All my healing friends – time to send as much positive energy into the world.  Trump. Brexit. Marine Le Pen in France, Merkel losing favor, UK to scrap the Human Rights Act for the British Bill of Rights whatever that is, the Colombians not approving the peace accord…  Thank god for Justin Trudeau. (Diversity over division).

The blog won today.  Now off to the couch to read before setting off for Bercy.

Leave a Reply

