It was 50 days…

50 days and I become an American Abroad again!  [Wrote this 46 days ago but it didn’t get posted…]

I started an email to a friend – one of the winners of the who has read all the blogs.  I waited to mail the prizes from the US but my life has been crazy so it has taken a while to mail the prizes off…  (There’s one left and you shall receive it by an intermediary…)

Sorry about that diversion.  I started to write the email and it suddenly felt like a blog.  So feeling inspired, here I am.

How can I continue my Infinite Paris blog when I am not in Paris, I am not even in France?  I am preparing for France!  The personnel at the Visa Section of the French Consul in San Francisco has changed.  It was all female.  Now all male.  Not quite as friendly but efficient.  Third time’s a charm.  He told me it would be ready March 21.  No one was quite that positive the last times.

Bought my health insurance for Europe – a condition of the visa.  Coverage for emergencies and catastrophic situations.  Made the reservation.  Going United out of Sac to SF to CDG on May 2.  I will be in Paris May 3!  Using United miles so I just pay for the upgrade to the extra legroom.  I expect to return on Delta.  I have enough miles for 3 more free trips.  Anyone want to get a Delta credit card?  I get bonus miles for the referral and you’ll get a free trip after 3 months and some spending.

So how have I been spending my time?  Back two and a half months and this is the first time I am home for two weeks in a row.  I am going through boxes to rediscover my stuff and clothing!  No need to visit Macys.  And I really shouldn’t buy another rock or crystal!  But this time my fail-safe method of protecting things has not worked.  I sent my self telling me where the things were!  But my arrival was hectic – here on Wednesday and off to visit my relative on Friday.  I believe I found my credit cards then.  All was good.  Til yesterday when I had some time so I went back to read the email to make sure I had it all.  Yikes.  No.  Apparently I had two rings that I put in the same safe place.  Can’t find them.  Even went to the safe deposit box this morning just to be sure.  Nope.  Not there.  So I am asking the house elves to help find them.  I was crazy when I first got back.  Not good.

On the home front, my relative has recovered from her stroke amazingly well.  She’s home and gets around with a walker.

Leave a Reply

